Goodbye 2016 – What You May Have Missed

bye-bye-2016-images-e1457800543649

Image found on Google Image

 

In less than an hour we shed 2016 and all it’s misery.  And, My Novelesque Life website will officially be launched.  Most of the reviews and writing from my previous blog will slowly move onto this website.  I want to make sure you all have access to my reviews on one site.  I am very excited to be starting this site, and just hope I get the hang of it.  It seems a bit more difficult than Blogspot in posting, but then again I am not very tech savvy, that’s for sure.  Along with this new blog, I am hoping that to make other positive changes in my life.  Other than reviewing books, I want to work more on finishing my writing projects, work on more creative crafts that I love, and getting healthier.  I have gotten into a bad habit of not treating my body and mind positively.  I want to go back to taking care of myself.  I have to let go of many things that hold me back…one of them being me.  I am actually excited about it, rather than my usual apprehension. One other thing I am looking forward to is finding real love.  I have been single for 29 years, and the last six I have been conforming to what I think someone wants from me.  Even being upfront and overly honest still landed me in that situation.  I am ready for someone to love me first and put me somewhere on the top shelf.  Lastly, I am so ready to read some fabulous new books 🙂

Yes, 2016 was a letdown in many ways…but when it came to books, 2016 did not let us down.  Out of 455 books I read….

MY TOP 25 MYSTERIES in 2016

mystery3-its-a-mystery

Image from Istoria Book Blog

1.  Collecting the Dead (Special Tracking Unit: #1) Spencer Kope 1/2

2. Once Shadows Fall (Sturgis & Kale: #1) Robert Daniels 1/2

3. Corrupted (Rosato & DiNunzio: #3) Lisa Scottoline 1/2

4. Harry Bosch Universe: #13 by Michael Connelly ★ to ★★★★★

5. Miss. Silver Comes to Stay (Miss Silver Mysteries: #16) Patricia Wentworth 1/2

6. Sebastian St. Cyr series by C.S. Harris to

7. DCI Erika Foster series by Robert Bryndza

8. All Is Not Forgotten by Wendy Walker

9. Invisible Dead (Dave Wakefield: #1) Sam Weibe

10. Redemption Road by John Hart 1/2

11. The Last Mile (Amos Decker: #2) David Baldacci 1/2

12. Find Her (D.D. Warren: #8)

13. A Quiet Life in the Country (Lady Hardcastle Mysteries: #1) T.E. Kinsey

14. Where It Hurts (Gus Murphy: #1) Reed Farrel Coleman

15. The Darkness Knows (Viv & Charlie Mysteries: #1) Cheryl Honigford

16. The Shark (The Forensic Files: #1) Mary Burton

17. Angels Burning by Tawni O’Dell

18. Blood Strand (Faroes: #1) Chris Ould

19. In the Clearing (Tracy Crosswhite: #3) Robert Dugoni

20. Among the Wicked (Kate Burkholder:#8) Linda Castillo

21. Missing, Presumed (DCI Manon: #1) Susie Steiner

22. She’s Not Here by Joy Fielding

23. Tracks of Her Tears (Rogue Winter: #1) Melinda Leigh & Dead in Her Tracks (Rogue Winter: #1) Kendra Elliot (novellas)

24. A Front Page Affair (Kitty Weeks:#1) Radha Vatsal 

25. I Let You Go by Clare Mackintosh

 

MY TOP 25 NON-MYSTERIES in 2016

a0b3c144b654e377ca4b12740bd61cb2

Found on Pinterest

1. News of the World by Paulette Giles 1/2

2. Felicity (Poems) Mary Oliver

3. Just Mercy by Bryan Stevenson 1/2

4. Everyday Sexism by Laura Bates 1/2

5. Nimona (graphic novel) Noelle Stevenson 1/2

6. Summerlost (middle grade novel) Ally Condi 1/2

7. The Kitchen House by Kathleen Grisson 1/2

8. The Fire Next Time (essays) James Baldwin 1/2

9. Summer by Edith Whaton

10. The Story of Charlotte’s Web by Michael Sims

11. Cinnamon and Gunpowder by Eli Brown 1/2

12. The Other Einstein by Marie Bennedict

13. The Boston Girl by Anita Diamant

14. At the Edge of the Orchard by Tracy Chevalier

15. Reader, I Married Him (short stories) Edited by Tracy Chevalier

16. The Wonder by Emma Donoghue

17. Principles to Live By by David Adams Richards

18. Isabel Feeney, Star Reporter (Middle Grade novel) Beth Fantaskey

19. If the Earl Only Knew (Daring Marriages: #1) Amanda Forester

20. Miller’s Valley by Anna Quindlen

21. Thrice the Brinded Cat Hath Mew’d (Flavia de Luce: #8) Alan Bradley (technically a mystery but there is so much more to it)

22. Who Broke the Teapot? (Picture Book) Bill Slavin ★★

23. Secret Tree Fort (Picture Book) Brianne Farley ★1/2

24. Cleo (Picture Book) Sassafras De Bruyn 1/2

25. Miles of Smiles by Karen Kaufman Orloff

Some more blog posts tomorrow…my top 10 book of 2016 that you must DROP EVERYTHING AND READ…and books I want to read…new review for the latest Lisa Gardner novella!

k (My Novelesque Life)

 

Leave a Reply

