Drop Everything And Read: My Top 10 of 2016

2016-books

I thought today I might breakdown my two Top 25 lists from yesterday to a Top 10 Drop Everything And Read list.  This might make it more realistic to get to 😉

just-mercy

#1

1.  JUST MERCY: A Story of Justice and Redemption by Bryan Stevenson – If you read just one book from any of my lists, read this one! This book had been on a radar since it came out but it always takes me a bit longer to get to nonfiction.  Thank gawd for my book club – it was a book that we all wanted to read so it was made our book selection.  This book is heartbreaking and eyeopening.  MY REVIEW

2. THE KITCHEN HOUSE (The Kitchen House: #1) Kathleen Grissom – I asked to review Glory Over Everything by Grissom and realized it was a sequel of sorts (a character from The Kitchen House continues in the sequel but they can be read independently, says the publisher).  I listened to this one on audio and loved the two narrators.  The story had me gripped from the first few chapters.  It is an epic story, much like The Invention of Wings (Sue Monk Kidd).  I have not completed my review on this novel so stay tuned!

3. ONCE SHADOWS FALL (Sturgis & Kale: #1) Robert Daniels – I have been recommending this suspense thriller to all my mystery buddies.  The characters and storyline are wonderful and I stayed up to finish the book.  MY REVIEW

news

#3

4. NEWS OF THE WORLD by Paulette Jiles – I greatly enjoyed this novel! It reminded me a lot of the movie(s) True Grit and the novel (and movie) Cold Mountain (Charles Frazer).  There is a journey with adventure at every step.  It is very well-written and easy to read.  There are difficult sections but the writing makes it flow so well.  I am working on the review this week and hope to post it on here soon!

5. FELICITY by Mary Oliver – Mary Oliver is a brilliant wordsmith! Her poetry is so gorgeous.  You can see the landscape and nature she describes.  It is so calming that it makes me want to start to do yoga.  MY REVIEW

cinnamon

#6

6. CINNAMON AND GUNPOWDER by Eli Brown – This is one of those novels you can almost recommend to anyone (except maybe those that read nonfiction only).  It has adventure, history, food and humour.  I was too sure if I wanted to read this one at first but once I started the book I galloped through it and loved it.  Highly recommend this one! MY REVIEW

7. EVERYDAY SEXISM by Laura Bates – I wish everyone could read this book as it really opened my eyes to how bad sexual harassment is in the world.  And, also how women are conditioned to think it is just part of being a girl and should be accepted.  This along with rape culture has really fired me up to do something more.  MY REVIEW

8. GIRL IN THE ICE (#1), NIGHT STALKER (#2) & DARK WATER (#3) by Robert Brynzda – I read this series (Erika Foster) just this month but it has already reached my must read author list.  In fact, I will be doing a post on this series and author in a few weeks.  Do not miss it if you are a fan of suspense thrillers.  If you are also a fan of Kate Burkholder (by Linda Castillo) and Eve Dallas (by JD Robb) – i.e. kick-ass heroines, this might be the series for you!

what-angels-fear

#9

9. Sebastian St. Cyr series by C.S. Harris – I read this series as a group read – one book a month.  And, let me tell you that was one of the hardest things to do.  I warn you that you might binge read this series so make sure you start when you have time.  I heart Sebastian and Hero is my hero! Harris is great at mixing history and mystery.  I will be doing a series review when the next novel comes out.

10. HARRY BOSCH Universe by Michael Connelly – I read the first Bosch book, and enjoyed it but I wasn’t quick to move on to the next one.  Then the next few years I read the next four.  Then the group I mentioned above picked this series, as well, to read once a month.  At first it was easy to keep to the one book a month, but soon I broke the rules in a big way and am now almost caught up.  I am currently listening to The Crossing and am getting a bit sad that I am almost caught up.  I don’t really do book boyfriends very often, but I admit I have a bit of a crush on Harry.  I should mention that I listened to most of the series on audio…and Len Cairou rocks as Bosch!

I hope this list peaks your reading interest and if you have any questions please never hesitate to ask!

 

k (My Novelesque Life)

Leave a Reply

