Review: Death of an Old Sinner

*Originally published in 2015/09/08

indexDEATH OF AN OLD SINNER (Mrs Norris: #1) Written By Dorothy Salisbury Davis

1958; 176 Pages (Open Road Media)

Genre: mystery, detective, cozy, 

(I received an ARC from the NETGALLEY)

Rating: ★1/2

This is the first novel in the Mrs. Norris trilogy.  Mrs. Norris is the housekeeper for General Ransom Jarvis and his son Jimmie Jarvis.  There is no love lost between Mrs. Norris and the General and it is only the maternal affection for the younger Jarvis that keeps her employed.  While the General is writing his memoirs he stumbles upon a scandal from an ancestor.  And, Jimmie has decided to run for Governor of New York while having a fling with sculptor.  When the General is found dead this leads both Jimmie and Mrs. Norris into a mystery that uncovers deceit, fraud and maybe more possible victims.

This novel was written in 1958 and yet I only know that because I looked up the novel.  As I read I could not pinpoint any time for the setting.  The characters and language did not heed any clues – at least for me.  I love reading “cozy-ish” mysteries by Patricia Wentworth – also set post-WWII – but this one did not seem like a standard mystery.  There was too much build up of characters and death and lagged on with the mystery without any suspense. I don’t think I will continue with the other two novels but may try a standalone novel.  I have given this book a 2.5 STARS out of 5. Did anyone feel different about this novel? Or in agreement with me?

Leave a Reply

