Review: Novella Trilogy (O’Connor & Kincaid)

As I started to move this blog post from my old blog, I had an email from a friend pop up.  In the winter of 2015, I was approached by an author to read a novella trilogy.  It was a self-published romantic suspense trilogy written by a new writer.  The premise sounded right up my alley – and I did enjoy them in the end.  Then the author seemed to drop off the scene and her novellas were no longer available.  My friend’s email solved the mystery.  It appears Tess Diamond now has a publisher (Avon)  and her novellas have been revised to one novel.  So the reviews below are for the novellas. I will take a look at the new version and see if my review changes.

*Originally published 2015/12/2 & 3

dangerous games.jpgDANGEROUS GAMES (O’Connor & Kincaid: #1) Written By Tess Diamond

2015; 113 Pages (Tess Diamond Books)

Genre: romantic-suspense, mystery, series


Rating: ★★★★

(I received an ARC from the AUTHOR)

When Tess Diamond asked me to review the first book in her trilogy I went straight to the synopsis and was relieved that it was a novella-length romantic suspense.  I said yes and picked it up a few weeks later and was pleasantly surprised at what I read.

Maggie Kincaid was once FBI’s best hostage negotiator until a case went wrong and Maggie slid into self-doubt.  With the disappearance of a Senator’s young daughter Maggie has been pulled in by her mentor to bring the girl home safely.  Maggie was once kidnapped, along with her older sister, and knows what it feels like to be a victim but also has insight to how evil thinks and acts.  The Senator’s has hired his own investigator, Jake O’Connor, an ex-forces security expert who has his own way of doing things.  As time starts to run out the two must join forces if they want to save a young girl and bring her home alive.

Please note that this novella does end with a cliffhanger but book two (Game of Lies) has already been released and the third novella (End Game) will be released on December 3, 2015.  All three books must be read in order and cannot be read as standalone stories (think serials).  Each is a little over a hundred pages and are quick suspenseful reads.  I enjoyed the character of Maggie Kincaid as she is realistic and also flawed.  You get hints of when she was kidnapped as a child and later when a case goes south and tears her to pieces.  It is this characterization that keeps you reading.  I liked the banter between her and mysterious Jake O’Connor and that we find out about Jake as Maggie does.  In an 113 pages, Diamond gives us so much without bogging the reader down.  The cliffhanger gives us the kidnapper’s identity so you think what does book two have in store for us…I will let you know tomorrow as I am currently in the middle of GAME OF LIES.

game of liesGAME OF LIES (O’Connor & Kincaid: #2) Written By Tess Diamond

2015, 106 Pages (Tess Diamond Books)

Genre: romantic-suspense, mystery, series


Rating: ★★★★

(I received an ARC from the AUTHOR)

Game of Lies continues where the first book left off and but knowing the identity of the kidnapper hasn’t made Maggie or Jake’s jobs any easier.  They may know the who but now they have to discover the why to get to the Senator’s daughter alive.

In the second part of the three-part series we get to know more about Maggie’s past – what happened with her own kidnapping as a child and why she left the FBI two years ago.  We get a few glimpses of Jake but not enough to make him a more standout hero.  If you are looking for more heat in the romance department, Diamond does deliver but I was more intrigued with the consequences.  I will definitely be reading the third book as soon as I can because I am curious to see how it all gets tied up.  Stay tuned to tomorrow’s post as I will reveal if it is all worth the hype I have psyched myself with, lol.  

end gameEND GAME (O’Connor & Kincaid: #2) Written By Tess Diamond

2015, 99 Pages (Tess Diamond Books)

Genre: romantic-suspense, mystery


Rating: ★★★★

(I received an ARC from the AUTHOR)

End Game is the third and last book in the O’Connnor & Kincaid series, but from how it ended I don’t think this will be the last time we see Jake and Maggie.  As the hostage negotiation continues we see exactly why the senator’s daughter was kidnapped.  I won’t say too much about the plot for spoiler reasons, but will say that Diamond ties up the book very well with still leaving her series open to continue in the future. I don’t see Maggie and Jake having an easy time with happily ever after or Maggie not making waves at the FBI again.  I also see Maggie digging into her past until she has it all figured up…or at least, I hope that is where Diamond is going!

 

14440423TESS DIAMOND is a romantic suspense addict with a taste for danger – and chocolate cake. She lives in Colorado Springs with her law enforcement husband, two kids, and ferocious Jack Russell guard dog. She always dreamed of being an FBI agent, and now she almost is – if watching 24 reruns and plotting her next novel counts.

Connect with Tess:

Facebook

Goodreads

Twitter: (@T_DiamondBooks)

Leave a Reply

