Rapid Review: Victoria

30841109VICTORIA Written by Daisy Goodwin

2016; 404 Pages (St. Martin’s Press)
Genre: historical fiction, biography, based on true events, fiction, royalty

(I received an ARC from the NETGALLEY)

RATING: ★★★

In 1836, Victoria turns eighteen and becomes the Queen of Great Britain.  In Daisy Goodwin’s novel we see the young princess become a Queen and try to rule a country.  As a woman becomes a ruler we see how the players around her scramble and manipulate to be her right hand “man” or her puppet master.  I have always found Queen Victoria fascinating so I was looking forward to this book, but unfortunately I found it slow and I started to lose interest quickly.  As I was supposed to read this book for review and a group read I forced myself to finish it.  At the time Goodwin was writing this novel she was also at the same time writing the screenplay for the miniseries.  I have not heard good things about the show so I am going to skip it for now.   I am still interested in Victoria and am looking forward to reading other books on her.

Leave a Reply

