Book Review: If You Like Gone Girl…

*originally published on 06/29/2016

cover80631-mediumALL THE MISSING GIRLS Written by Megan Miranda

2016; 384 Pages (Simon & Schuster)
Genre: suspense, mystery

(I received an ARC from the NETGALLEY)
 
Rating: ★★★1/2
 
Nicolette Farrell left her hometown of Cooley Ridge ten years ago when her best friend disappeared.  When Corrine had gone missing Nicolette’s boyfriend, brother and Corrine’s ex-boyfriend were all looked at and interrogated.
Ten years later, Nicolette is living in Philadelphia, having gone to college and gained her masters she has a job at a school, and is engaged to a lawyer from a wealthy family. Then her brother, Daniel calls her home because they need to sell their family home to pay for their father’s care.  Within days, another hometown girl goes missing and Nicolette’s ex-boyfriend is again the suspect. Are these two cases, a decade apart, related and who’s next?
First I have to give Miranda big kudos on writing this novel in reverse.  We start with day 15 and go through each day until we get to day 1.  Each day brings us closer to the what happened as clues take us through twists and turns.  I liked the way Miranda wrote but I wasn’t too into the mystery itself.  For me, I felt like the novel never got me in a personal sense.  I did not feel for any of the characters or feel like anything was a big surprise.  Instead, it felt like a second hand account – like someone telling you something they read in a newspaper.  For this reason I would give this book 3.5 stars.  I would recommend it for the writing and mystery, but I just didn’t think it was mind blowing as other people have raved about.  It could be that I also had greater expectations for this one.
Leave a Reply

