BOOK TOUR: Mystery Slump Over

blog tour

I have been in a mystery book slump for awhile.  As you know the mystery genre is my favourite so I have read a lot.  If a mystery can keep me guessing or keep interested I am sold on that author.  Jessica Jarlvi is an author I am going to be looking forward to in the future!

WHEN I WAKE UP Written by Jessica Jarlvi

June 2016; 272 pages (Aria)

Genre: mystery, suspense, psychological thriller, swedish, coma

(I received an ARC from the PUBLISHER via NETGALLEY)

RATING: 

Anna, a teacher and mother of twins, has been savagely beaten and is now in a coma.  Her husband, Erik is in limbo and it is driving him crazy.  He must take over as the sole parent and figure out how to support them if Anna does not wake up.  While juggling his family life he is also out for justice for Anna.  In this small town, in Sweden, there does not seem to be any suspects until you look beneath the surface of those around her.

This would make a great Midsomer Murder mystery for sure!  There is so much scandal in this small town…and I was so intrigued.  The first half of the novel had me gripped as I didn’t know what was going on with the people around Anna.  All I could think of was how did they fit in and what was their purpose?  I love when I “have” to figure things out. I figured out who the murderer was but Jarlvi had me right till the end.  I wanted to see how it wrapped up but also enjoyed the ride to the end.  I didn’t necessarily identify with the characters or love them but they were so interesting I was hooked.  I really recommend this novel for those that like a scandal suspense story.

 

jarlviBorn in Sweden, Jessica moved to London at the age of 18 to obtain a BSc Hons degree in Publishing and Business. She worked in publishing in the UK for a number of years before heading to Chicago where she edited a magazine for expats. Back in Sweden, she completed a Masters in Creative Writing. Since 2010, Jessica has taught journalism and media at a local university, and has spent the last five years as the marketing and PR manager for a British firm. Last year, she was one of the winners in the Montegrappa Prize for First Fiction at the Emirates Airline Festival of Literature. Jessica is married with three spirited children, and although she's known for her positivity, her writing tends to be rather dark!

Follow Jessica

Facebook: @JessicaJarlvi

Twitter: @JessicaJarlvi

Website: http://www.jessicajarlvi.com

when i wake up

 

Buy links

Amazon: http://amzn.to/2nRmsyG

Kobo: http://bit.ly/2o1ATAw

iBooks: http://apple.co/2oALYqc

Google Play: http://bit.ly/2n3H1cj

One thought on “BOOK TOUR: Mystery Slump Over

Leave a Reply

