Reviews: Good Books

*originally published on

29643051FORGOTTEN SECRETS (Singing River Legacy: #1) Written by Robin Perini

2016; 370 Pages (Montlake Romance)
Genre: romance, suspense, mystery, romantic suspense, fbi

(I received an ARC from the NETGALLEY)

 
Rating: ★★★
 
When F.B.I. Profiler, Riley Lambert was ten years old her sister was abducted from their bedroom and still has not been found.  Riley’s mission in life is find her sister at any cost. The cost seems to be her own well-being so she is put on forced vacation for a week.
While Riley contemplates her next step, she receives a phone call from Thayne Blackwood, a man she is attracted to but afraid to get any closer.  Thayne’s sister has vanished after a break-in to her medical office.  Riley finds herself getting closer to the case which is what her boss has warned her against and she could lose her career…and her resources to finding her own sister.
Reading the synopsis of this novel I was SO excited to read this book.  I have not read anything by Robin Pernini so I had no expectations of the writing.  I liked this novel…as a romance with a bit of suspense thrown in.  As a romantic suspense book, I was a little disappointed.  I found that the back story, the romance and the grandmother’s illness slowed down the pace of the suspense.  I still liked that book so I will try another book, but read it as contemporary romance with suspense.

28498782REPRESSED (Deadly Secrets: #1) Written by Elisabeth Naughton

2016; 318 Pages (Montlake Romance)
Genre: romance, suspense, mystery

(I received an ARC from the NETGALLEY)

Rating:

Samantha is back in town trying to settle her mother’s estate and takes a job as a chemistry teacher.  She cannot wait to sell her mother’s home and get back to her life, and it seems like someone else wants her gone too.  Enter Dr. Ethan McClane – therapist for a troubled student – and soon Ethan has fallen in love with Samantha.  Samantha is attracted to Ethan but something from her past keeps her from fully committed to anyone.  Throw in some cold murder cases and new fresh bodies and the small town of Hidden Falls seems to be the place to avoid!

First – this is more of a romance story with mystery and suspense thrown in.  Second – the characters aren’t exactly realistic and are a bit cliched.  Third – too many things are happening at once then it is all tied up with just enough left unsaid for you to pick up the second book.

YET…the mysteries in this book kept me reading even thought I had kind of figured out where it was going.  I still wanted to read and see how it came out.  I didn’t find Ethan and Samantha that great of a couple as the romance was a bit clumsy but I still rooted for them.  In my opinion, it was Thomas Adler that seemed liked the more intriguing character of the bunch.  It is his journey that will probably get me to read book two.  The next book will probably be Alec McClane as they kept hinting to his “past”.  A good beach read for something light and entertaining.

27213253THE LOST GIRLS Written by Heather Young

2016; 352 Pages (William Morrow)
Genre: suspense, mystery, literary fiction

(I received an ARC from the EDELWEISS)

Rating: ★★★

“In 1935, six-year-old Emily Evans vanishes from her family’s vacation home on a remote Minnesota lake. Her disappearance destroys the family—her father commits suicide, and her mother and two older sisters spend the rest of their lives at the lake house, keeping a decades-long vigil for the lost child.

Sixty years later, Lucy, the quiet and watchful middle sister, lives in the lake house alone. Before her death, she writes the story of that devastating summer in a notebook that she leaves, along with the house, to the only person who might care: her grandniece, Justine.

For Justine, the lake house offers freedom and stability—a way to escape her manipulative boyfriend and give her daughters the home she never had. But the long Minnesota winter is just beginning. The house is cold and dilapidated. The dark, silent lake is isolated and eerie. Her only neighbor is a strange old man who seems to know more about the summer of 1935 than he’s telling.

Soon Justine’s troubled oldest daughter becomes obsessed with Emily’s disappearance, her mother arrives to steal her inheritance, and the man she left launches a dangerous plan to get her back. In a house haunted by the sorrows of the women who came before her, Justine must overcome their tragic legacy if she hopes to save herself and her children.” (on Book Jacket)
I went into this novel thinking it was more of a suspense thriller than a fiction book with a mystery.  Right off the bat, I will admit other than the young girls, Melanie and Angela, I didn’t really connect with the characters.  While what happened to Emily was plausible, it seemed a bit too flippant.  Almost like, oh right, Emily died and we have to give some sort of ending.  There were certain plotlines that Young was trying to hint at without saying but it seemed too much in your face.  I’d rather have just known right out about the secrets.  The dancing around the secret got a bit tedious and then I just didn’t care when it was revealed as it felt like you already knew.  Even the description above is more of a summary than a synopsis.

It took me a bit to get into the novel as the story takes awhile to heat up. It is one of the reason why there is no real suspense.  There was a mystery but even that wasn’t mentioned as much as I thought it would.  BUT I am glad I stuck with it as I dis enjoy Young’s writing and her intentions from this novel.  While her characters seem either very harsh and out for themselves or quiet pushovers – I did not feel any connection – good or bad towards them.  I am interested in seeing what Young writes next…I will try not to have expectations of a certain genre.

 

Leave a Reply

